Archivaria Awards

W. Kaye Lamb Prize (established 1983)

Named for Dr. William Kaye Lamb, Dominion Archivist of Canada (1948-1969) and founding National Librarian of Canada (1953-1967), this prize is awarded annually to honour the author of the Archivaria article that, by its exceptional combination of research, reflection, and writing, most advances archival thinking in Canada. It is the senior award of the journal for the best article overall.

The winner of the Lamb Prize is selected by General Editor, with the assistance of the members of the Archivaria Editorial Board. Each member of the Board, including the General Editor, ranks his or her top three articles from first to third; points are then assigned (5 points for a first-ranked vote, 3 for a second, and 1 for a third), and the winner is declared, with the General Editor breaking any possible ties. No article by a participant in the selection process for the prize is eligible to win, unless he or she formally withdraws from the process.

The first annual W. Kaye Lamb Prize was presented to Ian E. Wilson for his article, "'A Noble Dream': The Origins of the Public Archives of Canada," which appeared in Archivaria 15 (Winter 1982-83).

Jennifer Douglas, W. Kaye Lamb Award 2014


Jennifer Douglas, winner of the 2014 W. Kaye Lamb Prize with Heather MacNeil (Archivaria General Editor). (Photo: Jeff O'Brien)


Winners of the W. Kaye Lamb Prize, 1983 to present



Hugh A. Taylor Prize (established 2006)

The Hugh A. Taylor Prize was established in 2006 to honour the doyen of Canadian archival thinkers whose wide range of scholarly publications sparked the Canadian archival imagination. The prize is awarded annually to the author of the Archivaria article that presents new ideas or refreshing syntheses in the most imaginative way, especially by exploring the implications of concepts or trends from other disciplines for archival thinking and activity, and by extending the boundaries of archival theory in new directions.

The winner of the Taylor prize is chosen by the General Editor and a professor of Archival Studies (selected by the General Editor), who will decide the winner by consensus. For the first five years, the latter role will be filled by Dr. Terry Cook of the University of Manitoba, a former General Editor of Archivaria, long-time member of its Editorial Board, and founding contributor for this prize. As with the Lamb Prize, no article by a participant in the selection process is eligible to win, unless he or she formally withdraws from the process.

Both the Lamb and the Taylor awards consist of a certificate, a cash prize, formal notification in Archivaria, and listing on the ACA web site. The first Taylor Prize was for the 2006-07 year, selected from articles published in Archivaria numbers 62 and 63, and was announced at the 2007 ACA Awards Luncheon, along with the Lamb Prize covering the same issues. Full announcement of tCreighton Barrett, Hugh A. Taylor Prize, 2014he winning authors and articles appear in Archivaria 64 (Fall 2007).

Terry Eastwood with Creighton Barrett, winner of the 2014 Hugh A. Taylor. (Photo: Jeff O'Brien)

Winners of the Hugh A. Taylor Prize, 2007 to present


Gordon Dodds Prize (established in 2011)

The Gordon Dodds Prize recognizes superior research and writing on an archival topic by a student enrolled in a Master’s level archival studies program at a Canadian university. The Award honours Gordon Dodds (1941-2010) who was the first President of the ACA, and Archivaria’s longest-serving General Editor.

To be eligible, the entry must be written by a student enrolled at a Canadian university in a recognized Master’s level archival studies program. A faculty member or instructor must submit the entry to verify that the student paper was written within the context of an archival studies program between May 1 of the previous year and April 30 of the year of submission. Submissions must be received by June 30 of each year. 

Submissions will be judged by the Dodds Prize Adjudication Committee on their scholarship, creativity, and clarity of writing. The Adjudication Committee is comprised of the General Editor of Archivaria, the ACA Board Liaison to Archivaria, and two members chosen annually by the General Editor.

Winners will receive a certificate, a cash prize, publication of the winning entry in Archivaria, and a listing on the ACA website.